Applicant Eligibility

Note: Applicant eligibility may change from year to year. Please check the current FOA to determine whether your project is eligible.

Applicants eligible to receive an award under the Applied Science Grants Funding Opportunity Announcements include:

  1. Category A: States, Indian tribes, irrigation districts, water districts, or other organizations with water or power delivery authority. These applicants must be located in one of the following states or territories: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Washington, Wyoming, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Virgin Islands.
  2. Category B: Universities, nonprofit research institutions, federally-funded research and development centers, and non-profit entities (including 501[c][3] organizations) and others not identified as ineligible below. These applicants must be located in the United States or American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, or the Virgin Islands. These applicants must also include, as a partner, at least one entity from Category A that meets the eligibility requirements described above as documented by a letter included with the application stating that the partner commits to participate in the project and supports the need for the project (e.g., a university may partner with an irrigation district or water district, or other entities eligible under Category A). A letter of participation must demonstrate that the partner intends to participate in the project in some way, for example, by providing input, feedback or other support for the project. Note: partners do not necessarily need to contribute cost share funding.

Those not eligible include, but are not limited to, the following entities:

  • Individuals
  • Commercial/Industrial organizations
  • Private entities
  • 501(c)(4) Nonprofit organizations
  • 501(c)(6) Organizations
Last Updated: 11/6/23