Comment TG-02

Navajo-Gallup Water Supply Project Planning Report and Draft Environmental Impact Statement Public Hearing

This is one way you can provide comments on the Planning Report and Draft Environmental Impact Statement. They can be 1) sent in the envelope provided, 2) faxed to 970.385.6539, or 3) sent to: Mr. Rege Leach, Bureau of Reclamation, Western Colorado Area Office, 835 East 2nd Avenue, Durango CO 81301

Your Name:	Dr. Tommy Lewis	
Representing:	Department of Dine Education, Navajo	Nation
Address:	Post Office Box 670, Window Rock, AZ	86515
Phone:	(928) 871-7617 or 7475	
E-Mail:	tlewis101974@yahoo.com	

COMMENTS:

JUN - 6 2007

Comment TG-02 - continued



18

DEPARTMENT OF DINÉ EDUCATION THE NAVAJO NATION P.O. Box 670 · Window Rock, Arizona 86515 PHONE (928) 871 - 7475 · FAX (928) 871 - 7474



1

May 23, 2007

Proposed Navajo-Gallup Water Supply Project

The Department of Dine' Education strongly supports the proposed Navajo-Gallup Water Supply Project because it will benefit 165 schools (public schools, BIE funded schools, church schools, etc.) at the present time. These schools are located in the Shiprock, Crownpoint, Gallup, Window Rock, and St. Michaels areas, and the growth rates are as follows:

- Currently, we have 65,789 students in this region in grades K-12 and the number will reach approximately 88,550 over a ten year period at the current growth rate of 3 percent per year.
- Enrollment will reach 174,700 by the year 2040 at the current growth rate of 3 percent per year.
- We anticipate 15 new schools over the next ten year period to accommodate the current growth rate that will bring the total number of schools to 185.
- We anticipate 45 new schools by 2040 to accommodate the current growth rate that will bring the total number of schools to 210.
- These schools are heavily dependent on water supply in order to offering a safe and clean learning environment.
- These schools can not operate without water supply; therefore alternative water resources are very critical and important for the benefit of our children and future generation.

BOARD OF EDUCATION

Jimmie C. Begay, **President** · Rebecca Benally, **Vice President** · Vee F. Browne, **Secretary Members:** Dr. Dolly Manson · Katherine D. Arviso · Marjorie Dodge Dolly C. Begay · Juanita Benally, · Virgil Kirk, Jr. · Jack C. Jackson, Sr. Dr. Tommy Lewis, **Superintendent of Schools**